Golfing Union of Ireland

Merit Awards

Willie Gill Award
Open to all golfers, the Willie Gill Award covers the Irish Amateur Open, Irish Close, the West, East, North and South of Ireland Championships, the Portuguese Amateur Open, the Spanish Amateur Open, the Lytham Trophy, the Welsh Amateur Open, the St Andrews Links Trophy, the British Amateur, the Brabazon Trophy, the Scottish Amateur Open and the European Mens Individual Championship. Points are awarded to players based on their finishing place in each.

The 2013 winner is Reeve Whitson (Mourne) who won by a margin of 54 points.

Tom Montgomery Award
For the Boys events, the winner of the Tom Montgomery Award is the boy who has most points collected from the Irish Boys Close, the four provincial boys championships, the Peter McEvoy Trophy, the Ireland v Wales Boys match, the Sir Henry Cooper, the European Boys Amateur Team Championship, the Boys Interprovincial Championship, the Boys Home Internationals, the British Boys Amateur and the Jacques Leglise Trophy.

Robin Dawson (Faithlegg) took the award for boys in 2013 by an 80 points margin.

Michael Hennelly Award
The Seniors (over 55's) compete for this annually with points awarded for the Irish Seniors, Irish Seniors Close, the four provincial seniors championships, British Seniors, European Seniors Individual, European Seniors Team Championship and Seniors Home Internationals.

Garth McGimpsey (Bangor) is the 2013 winner.

U15 Boys' Award
The U15 Boys' compete for this annually with points awarded for the Irish Boys Under 15 Open and the four provincial U15 Boys' championships.

The 2013 winner is Alan Fahy (Bray) by a 20 points margin.